When in doubt, try again

I’ve never written a blog. Never even really considered it. I’m not a writer, nor do I have whatever that drive is that causes other people to want to write.

But, I’m shaking things up.

A couple years ago I started having what would become the second identity crisis of my life. The first occurred in my mid-twenties after breaking up with my first long-term relationship. I started going to therapy and after a couple years I felt much better. I was, you know, going to do the thing. The life thing.

That worked for a while! I met a real adult-type guy, got married, became friends with adult-type people and began shifting comfortably into a middle-class life. I could do anything I wanted to do. It was great.

But after a while I started feeling like I just wasn’t that interesting. I got socially awkward, drank too much, put on a bunch of weight, hated my job and generally didn’t do the kinds of things that are supposedly fulfilling to your average adult human. And this is where we reach my second identity crisis.

This blog isn’t about the past. It’s about right now, and the future, and all the things I’m going to do to become happier.

One of the things that initially prompted me to want to do things differently was Wil Wheaton’s blog post Seven Things I Did to Reboot My Life. Lemme paraphrase (warning – spoilers):

  1. Drink less beer
  2. Read more (and Reddit does not count as reading)
  3. Write more
  4. Watch more movies
  5. Get better sleep
  6. Eat better food
  7. Exercise more

Well, shit! Those are things, those are easy things. And they’re very common sense things, but something about how simple he made it seemed super inspiring and obtainable.

They all really made sense to me. Well, all except #3 as I’m not a writer. The irony isn’t lost on me.

So, my list is loosely based off of his. I’ve added some of my own, such as:

  1. Cook more
  2. Learn to sew properly
  3. Go on hikes more often
  4. Spend no more than $100 per week on groceries
  5. Make some of our household supplies
  6. Homestead more in general
  7. Focus on more one-on-one interactions with friends
  8. Run a 5K
  9. Find the joy of missing out

And I’m going to write about these things! Not because I like writing or have ever aspired to write, but because I just seems like one more thing I can do that will be uncomfortable and new.

Hello? Is it me I’m looking for?

4 thoughts on “When in doubt, try again

  1. Inspiring! Here’s to all those seeking a better way or just a different way. I will enjoy following your journey and look forward to hearing about what you learn along the way. As a reader, I can tell you that there must be a writer in you because I was compelled to read what you wrote and inspired enough to think about what I might do differently. 🙂 Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

